Types of ISO Certification

Why choose ISO certification and type?

ISO stands International Organization for Standardization. As the name suggests it is an independent body or International organization, develops International Standards, ISO Certification has a different type of standards like ISO 90001 & 14001. But both these are not involved in the ISO certification. Also, do not issue ISO certificates. External bodies in India perform the ISO Certification Process. In this article, we will look at the ISO Certification registration process in detail.

ISO certification is not valid for a lifetime. After three years you have to renew this certification. ISO certification is not mandatory for every organization. Company registers themselves for this certification on the customer requirement. ISO Certification does not matter mandatory. This certification does not matter the size of the company.

About ISO Certification

ISO is an International standards organization. ISO founds on 23 February 1947, London, United Kingdom. Its headquarters are in Geneva. ISO is an independent, non-governmental with a membership of 164 national standards bodies. As we all know is an international organization .so it gathers experts at one platform to share knowledge and develop voluntary. Which support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges?

International Standards make things work. They provide world-class specifications for products, services, and systems, to ensure quality, safety and efficiency standards. 

At ISO, they have a different type of standards such as ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001. But they are not involved in their certification, and ISO did not issue any certificates. ISO certification is performed by external certification bodies.

Type of ISO Certification

The first important point for an entrepreneur is to choose the type of ISO certification. The type of ISO certification is based on the type of business.

  1. ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management System
  2. ISO 37001 -  Anti-bribery management systems
  3. ISO 31000 - Risk Management
  4. ISO 27001 - Information Security Management System
  5. ISO 10002 - Compliant Management System
  6. ISO 14001:2015 – Environment Management System
  7. ISO 26000 – Social Responsibility
  8. ISO 28000 – Security Management
  9. ISO 22008 – Food Safety Management
  10. SA 8000 – Social accountability
  11. SO 13485 – Medical devices
  12. ISO 639 – Language codes
  13. ISO 4217 – Currency codes
  14. ISO 3166 – Country codes

Steps to Get ISO Certificate?

Apply for Certification

Once the application has selected for the ISO standard by the ISO certification body. The application has the rights and obligations of entrepreneur and certification body parties and also have liability issues, confidentiality, and access rights.

Documents verification by Registrar

After Make an application the ISO certification body will review all the documents related to various policies being followed in the organization. Review of existing works done by the organization will help the ISO registrar to identify the possible gaps against the requirements stipulated in the ISO standards.

Determination of Pre-assessment Needs

The Pre-assessment is an initial review of the QMS in an organization to identify any significant loopholes or omissions in the system and if there are any loopholes then the registrar will give the opportunities to the organization to correct the deficiencies. So that if the final assessment did so there will be no problem.

Prepare an Action Plan

After the ISO registrar notified the existing gaps in the organization, the applicant has to prepare an action plan to eliminate these gaps. The action plan should contain the list of the required tasks to be performed to meet the QMS.

Onsite Inspection 

The ISO registrar will conduct an onsite inspection to audit the changes made in the organization.

During the audit, if the registrar finds anything loopholes, that do not meet with the ISO standards.The registrar determines the severity and issue findings. 


The registration cannot proceed further. Until all important nonconformities are done and verified by the Registrar.  In the final audit, they mostly cover all those areas which are affected by people & cost. We can say it was a re-audit.

Get Certified

After all, non-conformities are done, and all the points about the company are updated in the audit report. The registrar will grant the ISO certification.

Surveillance Audits

In the Surveillance audit report, it will be primarily conducted to ensure that the organization is maintaining ISO quality standards. This audit performs after a specific time period.


Q: Who needs ISO certification?

Ans: ISO certification is a standard for maintaining quality. Some customer is interested to do business with those companies who are ISO certified.so basically ISO certification depends on customer requirements.

Q: How do I become ISO certified?

  • Preparation
  • Documentation
  • Implementation
  • Internal Audit
  • Certification

Q: Is ISO certification worth?

Ans: ISO certification means a quality management system. ISO takes control of the place & firm by processes. ISO is not but it is an effective tool which is used for marketing.

Q: What is the purpose of ISO standards?

Ans: ISO standards are used to make sure that whatever services are provided is safe, reliable & good quality.it is a tool which reduces the cost of waste &errors.

Q: Who gives ISO Certification?

Ans: ISO certification gives by Registrars or CBs. it is a certification/registration bodies, which certified individual companies.

ISO Certification in Delhi | Private Limited Company Registration in Delhi | Proprietorship Firm Registration in Delhi | Partnership Firm Registration in Delhi 

Copyright © 2019 Filingbuzz Consultants Private Limited. All rights reserved.

Scroll to Top